APPROVED

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE NORTH ORANGE COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

March 17, 2016

The Board of Trustees of the North Orange County Community College District met for its Special Meeting on Thursday, March 17, 2016, at 8:50 a.m. in the Fullerton College, College Complex Room 224.

Board President Vice President Molly McClanahan called the meeting to order at 8:55 a.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

TRUSTEE ROLL CALL: <u>Present</u>: Stephen T. Blount, Jeffrey P. Brown, Molly McClanahan, Jacqueline Rodarte, and Student Trustee Tanya Washington. Leonard Lahtinen arrived at 8:57 a.m. <u>Absent</u>: Barbara Dunsheath, M. Tony Ontiveros, and Student Trustee Francisco Aviles Pino.

RESOURCE PERSONNEL PRESENT: Fred Williams, Interim Chancellor; Cherry Li-Bugg, Vice Chancellor, Educational Services & Technology; Irma Ramos, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources; Pete Snyder, representing Fullerton College Faculty Senate; Rod Lusch, representing CSEA; and Alba Recinos, Recording Secretary.

OTHER ADMINISTRATORS AND EMPLOYEES PRESENT: Josue Abarca, Naomi Abesamis, Albert Abutin, Jeannie Abutin-Mitsch, Darin Acierno, Erika Adakai, Laura Almodovar-Sole, Nick Arman, Behnoosh Armani, Brandi Avila, Carlos Ayon, Kathy Bakhit, Jodi Balma, Doug Benoit, Mary Bogan, Tim Byrnes, Lisa Campbell, Tom Chiramonte, Janine Cirrito, Jennifer Combs, Jeanne Costello, Terry Cox, Les-Sie' Crockrom, Pilar Ellis, Danielle Fouquette, Sam Foster, Robert Gamboa, Michael Gieck, Scott Giles, David Grossman, Heather Halverson, Nitzya Hamblet, Emma Hangue, Richard Hartmann, Nahrin Hinaro, Melisa Hunt, Savannah Jones, Rabia Khan, Sharon Kelly, Linda Kelly-Mandich, Jennifer LaBounty, Liz Ledesma, Victor Manchik, Summer Marquardt, Monica Martin, Rena Martinez-Stluka, Jim McKamy, Lisa McPheron, Vanessa Miller, Linda Millikan, Karin Nguyen, Jose Ramon Nuñez, Karin Pavelek, Deb Perkins, Queen Peterson, Aghabi Rangel, Edward Roth, Rolando Sanabria, Steve Selby, Melissa Serrato, Ruth Sipple, Megan Sirna, Deanna Smedley, Cassandra Spinks, Richard Storti, Melinda Taylor, John Tebay, Vincent White, and Jazmin Zuniga from Fullerton College; Morgan Beck, Danielle Davy, Lisa Gaetje, Vaniethia Hubbard, and Julie Schoepf from the School of Continuing Education; and Julie Kossick, Kai Stearns Moore, and Melissa Utsuki from the District Office.

VISITORS: Miguel Aispuro, Briana Alvarado, Fidel Avila, German Baron, Brandon Burze, Shantell Cabrera, Karina Carrasco, Melissa Castañeda, Vanessa Coria, Dakota Correl, Mary Dalessi, Harman Dhaliwal, Carol Dodson, Anthony Friar, Taylor Gaetje, Claudia Gutierrez, Julio Hernandez, Jorge Huerta, Sebastian Hoang, LaQuita Jones, Ruben Lopez, Erik Manriquez, Cheryl Marshall, Esmeralda Martin, Angel Miranda, Bob Miranda, Lisa Mitts Patrick, Sarah Montalvo, Janice Orozco, Kelly Pankopf, Matthew Pascual, Rocio Ramirez, Amy Ricardo, Juan Salazar, Chris Sandoval, Stephanie Swendener.

Chris Terry, Gabriel Torres, Myn Tervino, Krista VanDyke, Andrew Washington, Shane Wilson

OPEN FORUM: Beginning at 9:00 a.m., the following three finalists for the position of Fullerton College President took 45 minutes each to conduct a question and answer session: Dr. Juan Avalos, Dr. Peter Maphumulo, and Dr. Greg Schulz.

ADJOURNMENT: At 11:53 a.m., it was moved by Trustee Jacqueline Rodarte and seconded by Trustee Leonard Lahtinen to adjourn the meeting. **Motion carried with Trustees Blount, Brown, Lahtinen, McClanahan, and Rodarte voting yes.**

Prepared By Recording Secretary for Jacqueline Rodarte, Secretary, Board of Trustees